Religious Literacy

Religious symbols

Starting this month, preschool-5th grade Religious Education classes will be introducing the children to stories and concepts from Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. This is part of our Religious Literacy goal, which is also being supported this year for the Middle School group in our Neighboring Faiths program.

Religious Literacy means that you know the basic fact, tenets, and beliefs of all religions. It does not imply that you must accept or believe them yourself – but you should be aware of what these varied beliefs and values are. Religious Literacy is being a good neighbor, able to engage in interfaith dialogue in our diverse and pluralistic world.

Can you pass the religious literacy quiz?  Find out here!

Religious Literacy of ALL the world’s many religions, faiths, philosophies, and world-views is just too large a goal for us to tackle with our younger children in one piece, so I have us working on a three-year rotation:

1. Abrahamic Faiths (Judaism, Christianity, Islam)

2. Asian Religions (Hinduism, Jainism, Islam, Sikhism, Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism)

3. Indigenous Traditions and Paganism

This is our year for the Abrahamic Faiths.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s