UU Church Camps

DSCF9463

This week I am busy teaching the first of two “Chalice Camps” I will do this summer for my congregation.  The theme for this week it is “All Aboard Space Ship Earth”, with 4-7 year olds.

It’s my fourth year of camps, and they really are one of the major highlights of my year.  The relationships that are built, between the adults and the kids, between the teenage helpers and the younger kids, between the teenage helpers and the adults, are all so rich and they simply don’t form with the kind of time you spend in an immersion experience such as a camp.  I also see the kids beginning to really feel at home in the church building in a way they don’t if they only attend on Sunday mornings when it’s crowded and busy.

So I’m tired, but it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

