Polity for the Kids

As American Unitarian Universalists, we have inherited a long tradition of congregational polity.  Basically, I explain to the kids that this means we are organized and governed at the level of local congregations.  The decision-making and governing authority in a UU congregation is the congregation itself, based on the democratic processes of its membership body.

Taking part in congregational decision making is part of how one engages with their UU identity – we are a people who get a vote and a voice.  I think it’s important for our kids to also experience this in their religious education program.

Each year for the last three years I’ve held a Children’s Annual Meeting in the spring.  I blogged about the first year of it back on my other blog, The Curriculum of Love.  Each year I’ve repeated that basic process, with three committees and a simple voting process to choose where to  send the Children’s Offering money.

IMG_1984

 

It is honestly one of my very favorite things I do with the kids all year long.  Every year, they have been actively engaged in this process.  The kids seem interested – in fact one of the adults helping this year said afterward “kids really like committees!”.  I think they experience some genuine empowerment through getting to make real decisions.

I think a democratic RE program is so important, in fact, that I’m wondering if next year I couldn’t hold two meetings, one in the Fall and one in the Spring.  What other decisions should the kids be making for themselves?

One thought on “Polity for the Kids

  1. Pingback: Declaring Our Independence | The Children's Chalice

Leave a Reply

